January 14, 2025

66⁻⁵

A regular and organizational meeting of the Montcalm Community College Board of Trustees was called to order at 5:30

p.m. by Chairperson Karen Carbonelli in the Trebian Conference Room in MCC's Donald C. Burns Administration/Library Building in Sidney.

5 m Staney.	
Trustees present:	Karen Carbonelli Dr. Esther Combs Carol Deuling-Ravell, Vice Chairperson Joyce Kitchenmaster, Secretary Robert Marston Kurt Peterson, Chairperson Joshua Stump, Treasurer
Trustees absent:	
Other present:	 Andrew Badder, MCC Student (left 5:40 p.m.) Dr. Bradley J. Barrick, MCC President Larry Carbonelli Penny Dora, MAISD (left 6:14 p.m.) Katie Flynn, MAISD Superintendent (left 6:14 p.m.) Lisa Herald, MCC Executive Assistant, President's Office Kurt Kemperman, MCC Creative Director (left 6:02 p.m.) Lisa Lund, MCC Foundation Executive Director Francisco Ramirez, MCC Dean of Student & Enrollment Services Cory Smith, <i>The Daily News</i> Reporter Connie Stewart, MCC Senior Vice President Chief Operating Officer Shelly Strautz-Springborn, MCC Communications & Public Relations Director

Mr. Badder addressed the Board regarding his experience at MCC as a student athlete.

Mr. Kemperman gave a Communication Department update.

The Trustees met Montcalm Area Intermediate School District Superintendent, Katie Flynn.

Mrs. Carbonelli convened the organizational meeting.

Mrs. Carbonelli requested nominations for Chairperson. Motion was made by Carbonelli and supported by Deuling-Ravell to elect Kurt Peterson MCC Board of Trustees Chairperson. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Carbonelli closed the nominations. **The motion carried 7-0**.

Mr. Peterson requested nominations for Vice Chairperson. Motion was made by Peterson and supported by Combs to elect Carol Deuling-Ravell MCC Board of Trustees Vice Chairperson. There being no further nominations, Mr. Peterson closed the nominations. **The motion carried 7-0.**

Mr. Peterson requested nominations for Secretary. Motion was made by Combs and supported by Deuling-Ravell to elect Joyce Kitchenmaster Board of Trustees Secretary. There being no further nominations, Mr. Peterson closed the nominations. The motion carried 7-0.

Mr. Peterson requested nominations for Treasurer. Motion was made by Peterson and supported by Combs to elect Joshua Stump MCC Board of Trustees Treasurer. There being no further nominations, Mr. Peterson closed the nominations. **The motion** carried 7-0.

Mr. Peterson appointed Connie Stewart Assistant Treasurer and Lisa Herald Assistant Secretary to the MCC Board of Trustees.

Mr. Peterson appointed Joshua Stump Montcalm Community College's Representative and Esther Combs Montcalm

Community College's Alternate Representative to the 2025 Montcalm County School Board Association.

Mr. Peterson appointed Esther Combs MCC Foundation ex-officio member.

The Trustees set their regular Board meetings for 2025 in the Trebian Conference Room in MCC's Donald C. Burns Administration/Library Building for:

- January 24, 2025 at 8:30 a.m. (board retreat)
- February 18, 2025 at 5:30 p.m.
- March 11, 2025 at 5:30 p.m.
- April 8, 2025 at 3:30 p.m.
- May 13, 2025 at 5:30 p.m.
- June 10, 2025 at 9 a.m.
- July 8, 2025 at 9 a.m.
- August 12, 2025 at 9 a.m.
- September 9, 2025 at 5:30 p.m.
- October 14, 2025 at 5:30 p.m.
- November 11, 2025 at 3:30 p.m.
- December 8, 2025 at 9 a.m., Joint Boards Meeting
- December 8, 2025 at 11 a.m.

The Trustees set MCC's Stanley & Blanche Ash Distinguished Service Award dinner on 6/24/25.

The Trustees reviewed minutes from their 12/9/24 meetings. Hearing no comments or corrections, the minutes will stand approved as submitted.

The Trustees reviewed financial reports.

The Trustees received an MCC update from Dr. Barrick

Ms. Stewart gave a bond resolution update.

The Trustees selected Ransom Leppink as Montcalm Community College's 2025 Stanley & Blanche Ash Distinguished Service Award recipient.

At 6:49 p.m., Deuling-Ravell moved that the meeting adjourn. Kitchenmaster supported the motion, which carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted:

Chairperson

Secretary