Tuesday, May 22, 2018

MCC honors Wayne Korson and Miriam Zimmerman

Montcalm Community College recently presented its 2018 MCC Stanley and Blanche Ash Distinguished Service Award to Wayne Korson and Miriam Zimmerman.

MCC Board of Trustees Chairperson Karen Carbonelli recognized Korson and Zimmerman for their community service during a gathering of former award recipients and college dignitaries on May 9 at MCC’s Stanley and Blanche Ash Technology and Learning Center on the college’s Greenville campus.

Carbonelli said Korson has always utilized his energy to improve the community.

“If we had to describe Wayne Korson with one word, it would be ‘energy,’” Carbonelli said. “Wayne continually focuses his abundant energy to support his interests, his family and his community.”

Carbonelli said Korson established Korson’s Tree Farms in 1971. In 2003, the farm was purchased by his son, Rex, and daughter-in-law, Jessica, though Korson remained an active participant in the family business. He has also prepared income tax returns as a tax preparer for the past 47 years. In addition, he and his wife, Vicki, recently opened a new club house at their newest venture, The Links at Bowen Lake Golf Course.

“A strong advocate of education, Wayne served on the MCC Foundation Board of Directors from 2008 through 2017, where he was proud to help people pursue their dreams,” she said. “He sponsors and judges the annual New Venture Entrepreneur Competition at his alma mater, Central Michigan University, and he was a founding member of the Central Montcalm Community Foundation board, where he served for eight years.”

Korson resides in Canadian Lakes.

Carbonelli said Zimmerman is no stranger to serving others.

“After earning her Bachelor of Arts degree in Education from Adrian College, she served more than 30 years teaching elementary, junior high and high school students,” she said. “She also served her community for 12 years as a member of the Bloomer Township Planning Commission.”

Carbonelli said after Zimmerman retired, she joined her husband, Ike, to work on the family farm and became a member of the Master Gardener Association.

“In 2000, Miriam also began volunteering on the Montcalm Heritage Village Committee, where she served as a building docent, secretary for 12 years and chairperson for five years,” she said. “Under her caring and competent leadership, the village has continued to grow, providing a place to experience and celebrate our rich local heritage.”

Zimmerman resides in Carson City.

Korson and Zimmerman accepted the award while giving thanks to the MCC Board of Trustees, past and present MCC employees, previous Distinguished Service Award recipients, Montcalm County citizens and MCC students.

The MCC Board of Trustees established the Distinguished Service Award in 1973 to recognize people who and organizations that – through a sense of purpose, community concern and leadership – have helped the college serve its community.

Former recipients of the MCC Stanley and Blanche Ash Distinguished Service Award include: Karalyn Simon, William Ham and Mike Williams, 2017; Dr. Scott Koenigsknecht, 2016; Leslie K. Morford, 2015; the Creating Futures, Strengthening Partnerships Capital Campaign Leadership Team, 2014; Martha Jean Brundage, 2013; Dick Ellafrits, 2012; Bill and Harriette Cook, 2011; Steve Foster, 2010; United Solar Ovonic, 2009; Blanche Ash, 2008; Central Area Michigan Works Consortium, 2006; State Representative Judy Emmons and State Senator Alan Cropsey, 2005; Franz Mogdis and Dr. Robert Painter, 2004; Thomas Kohn and Jean Southward, 2003; M-TEC Board of Overseers, 2002; M-TEC Fundraising Campaign Leadership Team, 2001; State Representative Larry DeVuyst, Judith Riessen and Charles Halterman, 2000; Lemont Renterghem, 1999; Beatrice Doser and EightCAP, Inc., 1998; Montcalm Alliance and State Senator Joanne Emmons, 1997; Panhandle Coalition and Coalition of Greater Greenville, 1996; U.S. Representative David Camp and David Roslund, 1995; Bob Marston, 1994; Orville Trebian and Bob Braman, 1993; Wayne Omillian and Edmore Woman’s Club, 1991; L. Charles Mulholland and Montcalm Heritage Village Committee, 1990; C. Homer Miel and Women’s Festival Council, 1989; The Daily News and John Stafford, and Eric L. Halvorsen, 1988; George M. Showers and Gordon L. Stauffer, 1987; Paul Warnshuis and David Mayes, 1986; State Senator Robert A. Welborn and State Representative Donald Van Singel, 1985; Donald McKenna, 1984; Sydney S. Swainston and Vernon R. Johnson, 1983; Francis L. Rivard, 1982; Harold A. Springsteen and Einer Thorlund, Jr., 1981; Margery Wilson, Stanton Development and Lester J. Sitts V.F.W. Post 5065, 1980; Michael Salisbury and Arthur Kurtze, M.D., 1979; Michael Slentz, 1978; Ahmad Younis, M.D., 1977; Larry Disher, D.V.M., 1976; Grace Greenhoe and Willard Braman, 1975; Harold O. Steele, D.D.S., and Maurice D. Swift, 1974; and Stanley P. Ash, W. Bruce Bennett, M.D., Joseph E. Cook, James L. Crosby, L. Stanley Kemp, Marian E. Kemp, Kenneth J. Lehman, and Dr. William J. Seiter, 1973.